I Lift My Eyes Up

I’ve had a couple reminders to put pictures up, and I shall, as soon as I have pictures to put up. I haven’t had anything to take pictures of yet, unless you want images of stacks of worship songs I’ve weeded my way through, or a picture of the desk I’m working at covered with more stacks of worship songs all around my laptop and somewhere, hidden amidst the clutter, is a cup of tea.

Let me tell you about tea for a moment. I think it is fabulous. And British hold to their stereotype of tea drinking. Everywhere I go I’m asked, “Do you want a cup of tea?” And they make me up a cup of tea and while it’s brewing they ask: “Do you take milk? Sugar? One scoops or two?” When I return to the states, I believe I will be a converted tea drinking. No more coffee for me. Tea doesn’t make me crash, and it’s warm and delicious.

On the subject of delicious, the food here is spectacular. I have a absolutely marvelous host, and everyday, before I go to the church, she makes me lunch to take with me. I felt a little guilty when I was first coming to the UK because I was a vegetarian. Now, I don’t feel guilty about being a vegetarian, I love it quite a bit actually; but I was feeling guilty because I don’t like being difficult or being a problem for anyone. My goal in life, subconsciously or consciously, is to not be a burden and to make other peoples lives easier. However, I had no desire to eat meat, not to mention how sick it would make me, so I told the Pastor of the church that I’m serving at that I was a vegetarian. Once I got here, I found out that my host had been a vegetarian before, but started eating meat because it comes from her farm and they treat the animals well, and it’s all organic. All of that to say, she has been feeding me the most delicious vegetarian food. Today I had a wrap, as they call it. It was a burrito type wrapper with lettuce, tomato, cheese, red onions, and something else that I can’t recall. It was so simple, but marvelously delicious. Needless to say, I’m being well taken care of in my vegetarian ways.

However, I’m struggling elsewhere. My heart is very heavy, and for some reason, I just don’t want to be here.  I think I’m just having a hard time with all the people I’m constantly around, not to mention that my body is being quite stubborn and not adjusting to the time, so I’m always laying in bed awake or feeling tired throughout the day. So if you would just say a quick prayer that I will sleep tonight (because it is nighttime here) and that God would refresh my spirit, I would be most grateful.

I shall soon have pictures for you all! I have off from the church tomorrow, so the family I’m with is taking me exploring. I believe a castle and the Chester Zoo is on our list. The youngest daughter, who is about eight, told her mother that: “We must take Alexa to a castle, because Americans love castles!” Apparently she was practicing her American accent and lassoing a rocking horse before I got here as well.

I almost forgot!

I really wanted to share this song with all of my blog readers. My job at the church during the week is to go through all the old songs that where in pills around the office and organize them, as well as find new songs for the worship service. I came across the most terrible song ever. It is in the pile for the shredder, never to be sung again, but I had to share the lyrics because they were dreadful. Dreadful. Dreadful. I really can’t express it enough how dreadful these lyrics are, but I’ll let you see for yourself. The name of the song is: I am the Apple of God’s Eye and I’m typing it out exactly as it appeared on the lead sheet.

 I am the APPLE of God’s eye

His BANANA over me is love

For wherever this MAN-GOES

He ORANGES His angles to look after me

As His blessings PLUMet from above

And the Chorus goes:

The Great Fruit of God

The Great Fruit of God

The Great Fruit of God it over flows.

And that was it. Terrible. Dreadful. I suppose it could have been a VBS song from the 1800’s, but even then, what a terrible song. Fruit puns. In a worship song. It’s painful to me.

On that note, my current favorite worship song is Always by Kristian Stanfill, the lyrics have been very encouraging and I’ve been writing this listening to it on repeat, only through my left headphone though. I very rarely put both headphones in; odd fact about me.

3 thoughts on “I Lift My Eyes Up

  1. Holly says:

    Alexa, I miss you….drink calamine tea before bed and spray lavender under your pillow…Sleep with no dreams for a night and actually rest.

    -Holly

  2. rittersong says:

    That worship song you found is hilarious.

    Also, be patient with your body. It can take a day per time zone for your body to adjust. When I was in Africa this summer it took me about a week before my body was ready to go.

    Praying for you!

  3. Bonnie Hunt says:

    Alexa- You are taking after your Grandpa Hunt. He loves tea, and coffee is off his list, too. We sure miss you, but love to read what your doing. It takes time for your body to adjust. Love ya, Grandma Hunt

Leave a Reply

